Latest Industry Updates
Australia wins Gold at the 2018 World Beer Cup

Australia wins Gold at the 2018 World Beer Cup

Malt Shovel Brewery has taken out Gold at the 2018 World Beer Cup with its James Squire 'Jack of Spades' Porter.

Fellow Aussie Nail Brewing won Silver for its Nail VPA and BentSpoke Brewing Co won Bronze for its Red Nut.

Haydon Morgan, Head Brewer at Malt Shovel said: “To be named the best porter at the World Beer Cup Awards demonstrates what an exceptional team of brewers we have here in Camperdown. We not only introduce a range of limited edition releases throughout the year, but we also consistently brew our favourites that are loved by beer drinkers right across the country and now – around the world.  

“This porter recipe was originally created almost 20 years ago by Robert Freshwater and has not changed to this day. Great effort by our Brewers to brew a great beer.”

Hosted by The Brewers Association (BA) - a not-for-profit trade association dedicated to small and independent American craft brewers - the awards were presented at the conclusion of the Craft Brewers Conference & BrewExpo America at Music City Center in Nashville, Tennessee.

(Ironically the Gold medal for Australian or international-style pale ale went to an American brewer - Lunch Break ISA by Breakside Brewery & Taproom of  Milwaukie, Oregon!)

Beers were judged during six sessions over a period of three days by an elite panel of 295 judges from 33 countries - 72% of whom were from outside the United States. Judges evaluated 8234 beers - a 25% increase in the number of entries from the 2016 World Beer Cup.

Of the 2515 participating breweries, 807 were from outside the United States.

“Beer brings people together,” said Charlie Papazian, founder and past president, Brewers Association. “The World Beer Cup showcases the breadth of the global brewing community and winning an award symbolizes one of the greatest brewing achievements. Congratulations to all the winners on this remarkable accomplishment.”

Click here for the full list of award winners.

Share the News